How do they make ... ?

How is Beer made?

Beer is made by mixing malted barley and hops together and adding them to water. The mixture is boiled, a process known as mashing, and is where the liquid starts to get its flavour. Each brewer has their own recipe to follow and they use specific quantities and types of barley and hops, which is where the science happens.

Once the mashing has taken place the liquid is transferred to the fermentation tanks where it cools and yeast is added. The yeast used provides flavour but it also starts the process of creating alcohol and the liquid is now turning into beer. When it’s fermented for long enough the beer is now ready to be finished & packaged.

It’s at this final stage, the some brewers add fining agents, (Isinglass, Gelatine), to help clarify the beer. The finings collect the sediment and these drop to the bottom of the tank or keg ensuring that the beer is clear. Now the beer can be bottled.

And what makes it Gluten Free?

There are 2 ways to make Gluten Free (GF) Beer. The most common way is to add an enzyum, such as Brewers Clarex®, which degrades the gluten to levels below 20 parts per million (ppm). Another way is use naturally gluten free malt, but these can change the flavour of the beer.

How do you make a Vegan Beer then?

Well this is easy. Do not use the fining products as these contain animal products. Instead package the beer as soon as it has finished fermenting and a lot of breweries do this already. 

Great British Booze Cupboard - How is it made? 1
Great British Booze Cupboard - How is it made? 3

How Cider Is made

ider apples are a group of apple cultivars grown for their use in the production of cider. Cider apples are distinguished from “cookers” and “eaters”, or dessert apples, by their bitterness or dryness of flavour, qualities which make the fruit unpalatable but can be useful in cidermaking.

In the United Kingdom the Long Ashton Research Station categorised cider apples in 1903 into four main types according to the proportion of tannins and malic acid in the fruit. For cider production it is important that the fruit contains high sugar levels which encourage fermentation and raise the final alcohol levels. Cider apples therefore often have higher sugar levels than dessert and cooking apples. It is also considered important for cider apples to contribute tannins, which add depth to the finished cider’s flavour.

How IS Wine Made

Wine is made by crushing grapes and then storing the grape juice in fermentation tanks. The grape skins contain a natural yeast which is then released through the crushing process and these yeasts then start the fermentation process. Fermentation is where the yeasts convert the natural sugars into alcohol. Occasionally additional yeasts are added to enhance the flavour, but the juice is left for months to allow it to ferment into wine.

Wine is made by crushing grapes and then storing the grape juice in fermentation tanks. The grape skins contain a natural yeast which is then released through the crushing process and these yeasts then start the fermentation process. Fermentation is where the yeasts convert the natural sugars into alcohol. Occasionally additional yeasts are added to enhance the flavour, but the juice is left for months to allow it to ferment into wine.

Most UK wineries draw the wine from the tanks from above the sediment and then package this, but some wineries around the world use fining agents to make sure the wine is clear and its these fining agents that contain animal products (Isinglass, Gelatine).

Boozy Vegan ensures that all of the wineries that we work with produce naturally made, free from animal products artisan wines and we try to make them easily accessible.

Great British Booze Cupboard - How is it made? 5

Ice Cider

Ice cider is the cider equivalent of ice wine: a fermented beverage made from the juice of frozen apples. Similar to ice wine, the use of frozen apples concentrates the natural sugars in the apples, resulting in a higher alcohol content than cider made by traditional methods.

Liqueurs

A liqueur is an alcoholic drink composed of distilled spirits and additional flavorings such as sugar, fruits, herbs, and spices.

GIN & RUM

Gin and Rum are made by distillation, which is the process of converting a liquid into vapour that passes through the ingredients and then is subsequently condensed back to liquid form.